About Us

About Clark County

Clark County is located in south west central Ohio, between Dayton and Columbus. It is the 21st largest county of 88 counties in the state. The county has a total area of 402.53 square miles, of which 397.47 square miles are land and the remaining 5.05 square miles are water. Clark County is predominately rural with less than one percent of the county’s four hundred square miles consisting of urban areas.


Clark County’s largest community is Springfield, which is also the county seat. In addition to the county government, Clark County contains:

  • 2 Cities
  • 8 Villages
  • 10 Townships
  • 8 Other communities
  • 5 Rural water districts and crosses five watershed districts
  • 7 Public school districts
  • 14 Fire districts
  • 1 Community college
  • 1 University

Elected Officials

Clark County is governed by a three-member Board of County Commissioners that meets weekly in regular sessions. Commissioners are elected by the citizens of the county and serve four-year terms with those terms overlapping.

In addition to the Board of County Commissioners, citizens of Clark County also elect 13 other positions:

  • Auditor
  • Clerk of Courts
  • Common pleas judges (three)
  • Coroner
  • Engineer
  • Juvenile judge
  • Probate judge
  • Prosecutor
  • Recorder
  • Sheriff
  • Treasurer