Go To Search
Click to Home
Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)
  • Overview

The Clark County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) was established pursuant to the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act of 1986 or SARA Title III.

As stated on ORC 3750.04(A), the LEPC shall develop a chemical emergency response and preparedness plan for planning district Clark County; establish procedures for conducting it's public information and education responsibilities; receive and process requests for information from the public; notify the public of all LEPC activities and meetings; print and distribute the emergency plan and make it publicly available; receive reports and information as specified by ORC Chapter 3750.

The LEPC is instrumental in fulfilling the purpose of the Community Right to Know law to increase the protection of the community from chemicals produced, used, stored, and/or transported within the planning district.

  • Right to Know

State Emergency Response Commission - SERC

The Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) was passed by Congress in 1986. EPCRA was included as Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) and is sometimes referred to as SARA Title III. EPCRA provides for the collection and availability of information regarding the use, storage, production, and release of hazardous chemicals to the public and emergency responders in your communities. The law promotes a working relationship among government at all levels, business and community leaders, environmental and other public interest organizations, and individual citizens to improve hazard communications and emergency planning. To learn more, you may visit Ohio EPA SERC website.

Clark County information:

The public is advised that information concerning chemical inventories of certain facilities within Clark County as well as information concerning Clark County’s chemical response planning efforts is available for review.

Chemical inventory information for facilities that meet or exceed the reporting threshold requirements of 10,000 pounds for hazardous chemicals or approximately 500 pounds for certain defined extremely hazardous substances is available (the threshold for extremely hazardous substances is as low as one (1) pound in certain instances.)

If you want to receive additional information specific to Clark county, please use the form below and submit to Ken Johnson (  ), LEPC Information Coordinator.

LEPC Information Request Form

  • Our Organization
The LEPC is made up of representatives from all aspects of the community. The LEPC is required to have representation from 12 categories of the community, they are: Elected State or Local official, Law Enforcement, Emergency Management Agency, Fire, First Aid/Red Cross, Health, Local Environment, Hospital, Transportation, Broadcast and Print media, Community Groups, Owners and Operators of Facilities. Our committee is required to meet quarterly to discuss issues that concern Clark County in regards to facilities that use, store or produce hazardous chemicals.

Members of the Clark County LEPC are nominated by the Board of Clark County Commissioners and appointed to two-year terms by the State of Ohio Emergency Response Commission (SERC).

  • Clark County LEPC Representatives

Our LEPC is made up of representatives from the following agencies and industries across Clark County:

  • Emergency Preparedness Coordinator, Clark County Combined Health District
  • WHIO Radio Springfield Bureau
  • Mad River Twp Fire/EMS
  • Trauma & EMS Coordinator, Springfield Regional Medical Center
  • Trustee, Bethel Township
  • Communications Manager, Springfield City Communications Center
  • Ohio State Highway Patrol
  • Division Chief, Navistar
  • Director, Clark County EMA
  • GIS Director
  • Chief, Ohio Air National Guard
  • Readiness Technician, Ohio Air National Guard
  • Fire Chief, City of New Carlisle
  • Deputy Director, Clark County EMA
  • Plant Superintendent, City of Springfield Water Treatment Plant
  • Executive Director, American Red Cross Clark County Chapter
  • EMS, Hustead Emergency Medical Service
  • Commissioner, Clark County
  • Heat Treating Inc., LEPC Chair
  • Transportation Planner I, Clark County Transportation Coordinating Committee
  • Radio Emergency Coordinator, Amateur Radio Emergency Communications
  • Health Commissioner, Clark County Combined Health District
  • Assistant Chief, Springfield City Fire Rescue Division, LEPC Emergency Coordinator 
  • Clark County Auditor's Office
  • Captain, Springfield City Police Dept, Vice Chair
  • LEPC Secretary
  • Lieutenant, Clark County Sheriff's Office 
  • City of New Carlisle

The 2013 chairperson for the Clark County LEPC is Martin Mahoney of Heat Treat Inc. The vice chair is Captain Mike Varner with Springfield City Police Department. This Chair/Vice-chair combination highlights our focus on the public/private sector partnership! Questions about the LEPC or requests for information should be directed to Clark County Emergency Management at (937) 521-2175.