Go To Search
Click to Home
Conceal Carry

*** The Office will be CLOSED Monday, May 9th thru Friday,May 13th ***

Location & Office Information

The Clark County Sheriff's Office operates their Conceal Carry Program from our East District Office located at 3130 East Main Street.

Office Hours are: Monday through Wednesday for concealed handgun permit applictions by appointment only. Call (937) 521-2114 to schedule an appointment.

** If you cannot purchase a gun from a federally licensed gun dealer, you will not be able to obtain an Ohio concealed carry license. **

Criminal Records Check
Requires a sheriff, as part of a criminal records check, to contact the National Instant Criminal Background Check Systems (NICS) to verify that the applicant is eligible lawfully to receive or possess a firearm in the United States (R.C. 311.41 (A)(1) and (E)(2)).

Applying for Concealed Carry
Prior to coming to the office you must have the following paperwork with you:

  • A completed conceal carry application: Application for a Standard License, Renewal, or Temporary License
  • A training certificate signed and dated by your instructor stating that you have met the training requirements per O.R.C 2923.125
  • You must have read the Ohio CCW Booklet availabler from your instructor or the Ohio Attorney General's web site.
  • Proof of Ohio residency in the form of an Ohio drivers license or a State of Ohio I.D. card (available from any Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles location).
  • Exact payment of fee to be money order or bank cashiers check only. We do not accept cash or personal checks.

Please note that these items must be ready at time of appointment or a reschedule will be necessary.

Second Renewals
Effective March 27, 2013, HB 495 became law and eliminates the requirement to obtain a 'range competency" training certificate for those renewing for the second time.

Fees
  • An Ohio resident who has resided in the State of Ohio for five contiguous years or more is currently charged $67.
  • An Ohio resident who has resided in the State of Ohio for less than five years must undergo an additional background check through the FBI for an additional charge of $24, bringing the total application charge to $91.
  • A license renewal fee is currently $50.
  • An applicant must provide a passport size photo with his/her application that has been taken within three months of application or we will take one for $5.
  • A temporary emergency permit license fee is currently $37.
  • The replacement fee for lost licenses is $15, name change fee is $15, and address change fee is $15.
All fees must be paid by money order, bank check, or certified check only. We do not accept cash or personal checks.

Eligibility Guidelines

Applicant will be disqualified if any of the following applies:

1. If applicant has been changed or under indictment for:

  • Any Felony
  • Drug Trafficking
  • Misdemeanor offense of violence
  • Negligent assault
  • Falsification to obtain carry concealed license
  • Possess a revoked or suspended carry concealed license
  • Including conspiracy, complicity, or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

2. If applicant has been CONVICTED or has been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses:

  • Any felony
  • Any drug offense
  • Assault on a peace officer
  • Domestic Violence
  • Including conspiracy, complicity, or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

3. If applicant has been convicted or has been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses within 3 years:

  • A misdemeanor offense of violence
  • Assault (2903.13)
  • Aggravated Menacing  (2903.21)
  • Menacing by Stalking  (2903.21.1)
  • Menacing  (2903.21.1)
  • Arson  (2909.03)
  • Riot  (2917.03)
  • Endangering Children  (2919.22)
  • Intimidation Victim/Witness  (2921.04)
  • Escape  (2919.22)
  • Discharge of Firearm at or into habitation or school safety zone  (2923.16.1)

4. If applicant has ever been convicted of, or charged with an offense of violence ORC 2901.01 or an offense, other than a traffic offense, under an existing or former municipal ordinance or law of its or any other state or the United States committed purposely or knowingly, and involving physical harm to persons or a risk of serious physical harm to persons.  This includes any conspiracy or attempt to commit, or complicity in committing any offense of violence.

5. If applicant has ever been convicted or has been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses within 5 years:

  • 2 or more assaults, or 2 or more negligent assaults

6. If applicant has been convicted or has been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses within 10 years.

  • Resisting arrest

7. If applicant is or has been: adjudicated as a mental defective; committed to any mental institution; under a current adjudication of incompetence; been found by a court to be a mentally ill person; subject to hospitalization by court order; or an involuntary patient other than for purposes or observation

8. Unlawful user of, or addicted to any controlled substance.

9. If applicant is subject to any temporary protection order or civil protection order in Ohio or any other state.

10. If applicant is a Fugitive from Justice.

11. If applicant has had a concealed carry license issued by another state suspended.

12. If applicant has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions.

Pamphlet
The attorney general (AG) will publish the pamphlet on the AG website. This website will give access to the application for the concealed carry permit, and gives numerous tidbits of information regarding the concealed carry program.

Contact Us
Jim Stouffer
Concealed Carry Administrator

3130 E. Main St.
Springfield, OH 45502

Ph: 937-521-2100

Hours
Monday - Wednesday
8 a.m. - 12 p.m.
1 p.m. - 4 p.m.